Introducing the NMP Team

Scientific Staff

Chris Vorster

Director: Centre for Human Metabolomics

MBChB, MMed (Chem Path), FCPath (Chem), MBA

Albe Swanepoel

PhD Physiology

Brenda Klopper

MSc Biotechnology

Derylize Beukes

MSC Biochemistry

Elmarie Davoren

MSc Biochemistry

Elne Conradie

PhD Atmospheric Chemistry

Ilse du Preez

PhD Biochemistry

Marli Dercksen

PhD Biochemistry

Maryke Schoonen

PhD Biochemistry

Renzo Snyders

National Senior Certificate

Sonja Bartlett

MSc Biochemistry

Talulani Marageni

BSc Hons Microbiology

Tania Grobler

MSc Environmental Sciences

Varushka Acton

BSc Hons Biochemistry

Vutomi Mahomani

MSc Nutrition

Operational Staff

Ansie Mienie

Asénath Magwanya

Dewald Kühn

Gaolatlhwe Meso

Grant Maasdorp

Louise Koopman

Luzaan van Rooyen

Retha Potgieter

Simon Isaiah

Post-doctoral Fellows and Students

Michelle Bisschoff

PhD Candidate

Monique Opperman

Post-doctoral Fellow

Rochelle Caudron

BSc Hons Candidate

Extraordinary Appointments

Prof Chris Hendriksz

Medical and Strategic Advisor

A Rare Cause (Registered Charity in England and Wales)

Dr Danielle Mulder



Dr Helen Malherbe

Director of Research and Epidemiology

Rare Diseases South Africa

GCxGC-TOFMS Untargeted

Compound list

Spectra identified via comparison with library spectra

NMR Untargeted

Compound list

Spectra identified via comparison with library spectra

LDL Cholesterol Subfractions

Compound list

The LDL subfraction test measures up to twelve lipoprotein fractions and subfractions (VLDL, mid-bands A-C and LDL 1 through 7)

HDL Cholesterol Subfractions

Compound list

Separates and quantifies up to 10 HDL subfractions, classified from large buoyant HDL lipoproteins (HDL-L) to small-dense HDL lipoproteins (HDL-S).